Skip navigation

Good Lord it has been awhile… Work has killed me lately. But guess what! I get to have my life back at work, watching Hulu and all. THANK GOODNESS. On with the good stuff.

I have this obsession, it has gotten progressively worse since college…. It is called the Wild West. Yes the Wild West. Jesse James, Deadwood, Shoot Out at the OK Corral, etc.  (I could go on forever…)

And in case I haven’t told some of you already. JESSE JAMES LIVED IN NASHVILLE! “Whaaaaat?” you say. “Yes. IN EAST NASHVILLE,” I say. The famed Wild West robber lived in Nashville for a period of time. Even had twin sons born here (they unfortunately died while infants.) The Nashville Retrospect finally has an article about it in this month’s issue. (http://nashvilleretrospect.com/) Read it. It gives me chills.

Alright. Onwards.

Back through out last summer the Belcourt (www.belcourt.org) was showing westerns in three categories. Pre 1960’s Westerns, post 1960’s Westerns and Spaghetti Westerns.

Spaghetti Westerns. Now that is an interesting term. I am going to be 100% honest right now, I initially though Spaghetti Westerns were where dudes fought with spaghetti. NO LIE. I am an idiot sometimes. A true idiot.

Pasta is messy.

Well come to find out, Sergio Leone is the Godfather of Spaghetti Westerns.

Suave, truly suave.

He actually looks like the Godfather.

Twins!

Classy.

Then there is this guy. The famed “Man with no name”

Look at that squint.

Babe. TOTAL BABE. I would pick him over that vampire guy any day.

mmmmmhmmmmmmmm

Or there is this guy, not as recognizable but just as good looking.

James Coburn.

He blows shit up in this movie. If you haven’t seen “Duck, You Sucker!” You haven’t lived.

I can only hope that in heaven I get to just hang out with them in some sort of Western Town. God’s Wild West Village is what it will be called.

God was cheap and used clip art for his sign.

Crossing my fingers for this one (winking face).

3 Comments

    • Gretchen Rabelhofer
    • Posted April 9, 2010 at 10:45 pm
    • Permalink
    • Reply

    This was too funny, where do you come up with this stuff?

  1. Incredible read. I’ve almost finished with ‘All the Pretty Horses’ by Cormac McCarthy, so my head has been in the Western space, as well. Can I live in God’s Western Village? Do they allow bears there?

  2. Bethany,
    Hey, I could have told you about spaghetti westerns. Love this blog, but it does look like it requires a bit of time. Hey, I’m going to Montana for a vacation/photo class in August. Bet you wish you were going.


Leave a Reply

